The Judge School
Lancelot Armstrong, c. 1890 (Stick) In the 1920’s this was a fashionable hotel called “The Winsor”. From 1941-1966 Margaret Duer Judge maintained it as a school for exceptional children. An overwhelming visual experience, with nothing left to be desired in 19th Century architectural detail, this is the most important wood-frame structure in the District. Angularity, verticality and asymmetry characterize this style. Starting at the roof we see the original finial atop the bell cupola, chimneypots, tile cresting, patterned fish-scale slate shingles, gables, dormers, stick spandrels with terminating pendants and circular porches which wrap around the façade. Note the partial wagon wheels that decorate the front and side entrance stairs. Don’t miss the alley that abuts this property with the coordinating outhouse!